Askanesthetician's Blog

An esthetician explores skincare issues and concerns

Is There Anything That Can Be Done About Large Pores? March 24, 2010

 

I am sure it will come as no surprise to anyone to find out that I obsess over my skin.  I am particularly distressed at the fact that I have very large and visible pores on my checks.  We have a tyrannical societal expectations that people should have flawless, blemish free skin that looks lit from within and also has invisible pores.  Well that only occurs with the help of make-up and photo shop.  But nevertheless what is a person to do who has large pores?

Large pores are usually a matter of genetics so it is almost next to impossible to shrink the size of your pores.  But pores can become enlarged if they are clogged with dead skin cells and oil.  Keeping your pores unclogged can reduce their size slightly.  Most likely you’ll need to find a few ways to disguise the appearance of your large pores with make-up.

In order to make sure that your pores are unclogged and thus not enlarged by dead skin cells and oil you need to exfoliate.  See my early post All About Exfoliation for tips on how to exfoliate. 

But if genetics are to blame for your large pores, as they are in my case, make-up is really the only solution you have.  Currently I use a mineral powder in the morning before leaving the house.  I reapply my sunscreen with a mineral sunscreen throughout the day so that not only gives me sun protection but also cuts down on shine and gives my skin a more smooth appearance.  Consider using primer before applying your make-up since primer will create a smooth surface on which to apply your make-up, and then your make-up shouldn’t get stuck in your pores.

I keep hearing about two other powders that help reduce the appearance of large pores but haven’t tried them myself yet:

 

Sources and Further Information

 

 

2 Responses to “Is There Anything That Can Be Done About Large Pores?”

  1. Kat Says:

    So is there really nothing more to be done about larger pores except covering them with makeup?I have oily skin & large pores. I feel like I spend so much money on makeup and nothing seems to give me an all day matte look. I always end up looking oily, and just not evened toned.

    Right now , I exfooliate once a week – with cosmedicine exfoliant. Use cosmedicine daily foaming face wash for oily skin morning & night. In the morn, I use ole hendrikson’s truth serum followed by cosmedicine’s medimatte mosturizer. As for make up, clinque’s pore minimizer tint with a some bare escentuals mineral veil.. Mid- day.. It’s yuck. Oily, coverage all gone! Night I wash again, & follow with ole hendrickson’s night gel…

    Skin is def better than before but still not 100% happy with my results. Sometimes I feel like even after an hour, the uneveness & shine appear. Am I using the wrong stuff?

    Please help with suggestions/reccommendations!!

    Thanks!
    Kat

    • Hi Kat,
      I have a few suggestions that might help you out. Truthfully, I don’t really know the products you wrote that you are using so I tried to look them up and see what they are all about. It seems to me that the cleanser you are using and the serum should be ok for your skin type. If you like your exfoliant I would use it more than once a week. Try twice a week. Do you ever use an oil absorbing mask? You might want to consider that as well. You could use a mask a few times a month. Do you carry oil blotting papers with you during the day? Sephora has good ones you can try. You might want to consider stopping to use Cosmedicine’s medi-matte moisturizer. I would suggest forgoing a moisturizer all together and just using a sunscreen during the day. La Roche Posay has good light sunscreens – http://www.laroche-posay.us/_us/_en/consumer/catalog/ByType/Dry/anthelios-45-ultra-light-fluid-for-face.htm. Also look at these suggestions from Paula Begoun: http://www.cosmeticscop.com/skin-care-facts-oily-skin-causes-treatment.aspx.
      I hope all these suggestions help!


Leave a Reply

