Askanesthetician's Blog

An esthetician explores skincare issues and concerns

A Few Of My Favorite Things April 20, 2010

 

I would describe myself as a product junkie so I am always trying new things.  But there are a few products that I won’t give up and truly love. 

  • Make-Up RemoverDermalogica PreCleanse – I’ve mentioned this product before, and I’ll mention it again.  PreCleanse is a great way to remove your make-up before cleansing your skin in the evening.  It even removes stubborn eye make-up
  • Moisturizers with Sunscreen:  PCA Skin Products  – I use the moisturizer with spf for normal to oily skin daily and love it.  It feels light and not at all greasy or heavy.  I love the Face and Body moisturizer for my body during the summer.  It is a great way to get enough sun protection and moisturize at the same time.
  • Face Powder: Make Up For Ever HD Microfinish Powder – I had wanted to try this product for a long time but was skeptical if all the claims made about the product were true.  Turns out it is a great product that leaves your skin looking fabulous, and you don’t need a lot of the product to get great results.  I even found a smaller size of the powder at my local Sephora store for $15.  Only problem with this product – it’s messy so be careful when you use it.
  • Brush On Sunscreen: Peter Thomas Roth Instant Mineral Spf 30 – a great way to reapply your sunscreen throughout the day.  It’s portable, and you don’t have to worry about messing up your make-up if you use this sunscreen.  Also eliminates shine so what’s not to love?
  • Eyeliner: Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil – doesn’t budge.  Urban Decay is a great cosmetics company that is committed to no animal testing.  They have great vegan make-up brushes and an eyeshadow primer that really works.
  • Body Moisturizer: Trader Joe’s A Midsummer Night’s Cream – a wonderful thick body moisturizer, and 16 fluid ounces costs about $7.
 

3 Responses to “A Few Of My Favorite Things”

  1. Is the makeup forever hd powder or foundation heavy…i thought it would be to hide flaws on hd, but someone told me it was actually lighter on your skin so you wouldn’t look fake on hd. It makes sense, but how does it cover so well and not look cakey?

    • The Make-Up Forever HD product is a white powder. It goes on very light on the skin so you don’t even feel it. An added plus – a little bit goes a long way. I don’t know how it looks on HD TV though, only how it looks on me.

      • I will definitely check it out if it is light and has decent coverage. I have a bit of redness around my nose and powders like bare minerals break me out. This stuff sounds perfect for me, i’m still looking for my holy grail.


Leave a Reply

