Askanesthetician's Blog

An esthetician explores skincare issues and concerns

My New Favorite Lip Product May 7, 2010

I’m always on the look out for great lip products since I have dry lips all year round.  Until I discovered Dermalogica Renewal Lip Complex recently my two favorite lip products were Aquaphor Healing Ointment (the small tube) and Neosporin Overnight Renewal Therapy.  Now I still like both of those products for use in the evening since they are thick  and hydrating.  Unlike the Dermalogica product the primary ingredient in each of those two products is petrolatum which is known for its healing and protective qualities and can be a great ingredient for lips.  On the other hand, the Dermalogica product has cocoa butter, castor seed oil, wheat germ oil, and even Vitamin E (which is a great antioxidant) in it in addition to a polypeptide which is anti-aging.  But my main concern with a lip product is – how long does it last?  Well the Dermalogica products lasts for a long time making it my new favorite.  As anyone who has read this blog knows – I want all my products to have spf in them so I am disappointed that this does not.  So after applying this lip product in the morning I apply an additional lip product with spf in it on top in order to get proper sun protection for my lips during the day.

You can buy Dermalogica Renewal Lip Complex through Ulta.  Check out the online reviews; I’m not the only one who loves this product.

*Please note I get no compensation whatsoever for recommending products.  I just recommend them because I like them.*

 

2 Responses to “My New Favorite Lip Product”

  1. Lena H Says:

    Right now I’m really digging my Lip Care Stick by Dr. Hauschka. I too have really dry lips that crack and peel in the winter, and this product has taken care of that problem really well. No SPF though, argh! I like really like Dermalogica’s products, so this will definitely be the next on my list to check out. Regarding products claiming to exfoliate lips: are they helpful?

  2. I think before buying a lip exfoliating product try using a damp washcloth on your lips. If that doesn’t work as well as you would like look for a product that buffs the lips pretty much like a scrub would do for your face. I guess you could also try sugar mixed with olive oil to buff your lips.


Leave a Reply

