Askanesthetician's Blog

An esthetician explores skincare issues and concerns

How to Store Your Skincare Products September 19, 2011

 

In a perfect world we would get home with our skincare product purchases, start using them, and they would last forever.  But such is not the case at all.  If you buy a skincare product packaged in a jar as soon as you open it up, it is exposed to the air which can lead to contamination.  And as soon as you stick your fingers into the jar to use the product – bingo!  more contamination.  So what is the best way to store and protect your skincare products?

  • Keep your products out of the direct sunlight.  Sunlight degrades active ingredients like Vitamin C in skincare products so make sure your products aren’t exposed to the light.
  • Keep products out of a hot, moist, and humid environment.  Now this is the hard one since the most convenient place to keep skincare products and make-up is in the bathroom which is a hot, moist, and humid environment (at least for part of the day when you shower and immediately after your shower).  Yet both heat and humidity can degrade products.  Keep your products in a cooler place like by your bedside or even a linen closet.  Ok – I know this advice won’t work for most people since if you don’t have your products right in front of you, you just will forget to use them, but I did want to let everyone know about the best way to store your skincare products anyhow.
  • Make sure you don’t introduce water into your products.  When water is introduced into a skincare product the product becomes contaminated.  That is why jar packaging is a problem.  Pumps and air tight containers are the best vessels for skincare products.

Or simply invest $3,000 in this medicine cabinet which is temperature controlled in order to preserve the shelf life of your cosmetics and store them properly in your bathroom.

Sources and Further Reading:

 

5 Responses to “How to Store Your Skincare Products”

  1. Michelle Berg Says:

    Hi there, I was just wondering what the ‘rules’ are if you spill some skin care product? Should you try to scoop some back into the container or clean it up and buy a new one?

    • Hi! Thanks for your question. If you spill your product I would just clean up what has spilled and not use it. If your product touches another surface, like a bathroom counter or sink, it has been contaminated, and you shouldn’t use it. There is no need to buy a new product. Use what is left in the container.

  2. Alexia Says:

    Hi! Great post! Answered many questions I’ve been wondering about. I put my products in the bathroom counter top but I’m wondering what would be the best place for me to store my skincare products. My room is fairly hot most of the time because of my heater but I have a separate bathroom that heat does not go into but I have a problem with taking really really hot showers that by the end, the outside of my products are dripping wet from condensation. I have a cupboard beneath my sink (not like medicine cabinet) but would that be the best place to store my products? Or do you still recommend beside my bed? (linen closet is not possible for me) 😦 Thanks!

    • Hi! Thanks for your comments and question. It sounds like your bathroom and bedroom both get really hot so I would keep your products in another room entirely if you can. I hope that helps.

  3. Abbey-Jay Says:

    does anybody know any nice cabinets or any stands that i could put on my dressing table for all my skin care products?


Leave a Reply

