Askanesthetician's Blog

An esthetician explores skincare issues and concerns

When People Say the Following … April 19, 2012

As my fellow estheticians know we hear a lot of different statements about skincare from a lot of different people.  People share a lot about their lives when they come in for treatments.  I also get an earful about skincare practices, ideas, products, and convictions.  Of course I’ve developed a number of pet peeves about what people tell me.  Let me share:

  • “I only wear sunscreen when I’m outside during the summer” and “I don’t need to use sunscreen if I’m only driving in my car a short distance”  So many people seem surprised to find out that you need sunscreen 365 days a year – no matter what the weather or how long you are going to be outside.  Sunscreen needs to be a part of your daily skincare routine – no questions asked.  It that daily incidental sun exposure that really adds up and ages your skin.
  • “I never exfoliate”   Everyone needs to exfoliate – you just need to find the right exfoliant for your skin.  Personally I prefer lotion or serum exfoliants that you leave on the skin to scrubs since most scrubs are harsh and only remove surface dead skin cells.  On the other hand most exfoliating lotions or serums contain ingredients that not only exfoliate the skin but rejuvenate it as well.  Two brands that I like for exfoliating lotions are Epionce and Paula’s Choice.
  • “All skincare products make me break out” – this comment peeves me because it just can’t be true since there are so many skincare products out there.  If skincare products cause you irritation of any kind you need to go on a “skincare diet”.  Stop using all products and then add products back one by one so you can clearly determine if a certain product or ingredient is causing you problems.  There are also numerous skincare products on the market for sensitive skin so really there is something out there for everyone.
  • “I broke out right away when I used a product so I stopped using it”  Your skin needs time to adjust to new products, and you have to give yourself at least three months of trying products before you can determine if they are really effective or not.  If you are acne prone you can experience more breakouts at the beginning of using new products since new products can have a purging effect on the skin.  This means that the ingredients in the products bring to the surface breakouts or clogged pores lurking just below the surface of the skin.  This is something that is not uncommon when you are acne prone.  Don’t give up on new products before you give them enough time to work.  Try new products for at least 3 months before you give up on them.
  • “I don’t wash my face at night” and “I forget to take off my make-up at night”  I hear these statements a lot, and I can sympathize since I know how tired one can get by the end of a long day.  But despite how tired you are do make the effort to remove your make-up and wash your face at the end of the day.  This one simple step can be a life saver for your skin.

My Related Posts:

 

Image from wallpaper.1000webgames.com

 

6 Responses to “When People Say the Following …”

  1. K Says:

    Another one I hear all the time is, “Well my mother used Pond’s / Vaseline / or just cold water to wash her face, and her skin was beautiful.”

    • You’re right! That’s a great one too. And it totally bugs me since about 0.0001% of the world’s population has beautiful skin using the products your mentioned or doing nothing to their skin. Celebrities love to say that one too all the time which then makes regular women think that the same should be true for them too, and it is not.

      • Rae Says:

        I agree! Some people with beautiful skin who only use vaseline probably already have beautiful skin to begin with.

        I hate it when people tell me I should just stop using my anti-acne products, and just use soap and water because that’s what they do and the don’t have acne. Acne is a skin disorder and when people say that, it really irks me. It’s not my fault I was born with acne-prone skin.

  2. Rae Says:

    “I broke out right away when I used a product so I stopped using it”

    This is one of my pet peeves too. Because it takes around 2 weeks for a pimple to form. Which means, the pimple is already under there even before you used the product. It must be some other type of skin irritation.

  3. Great post . As an esthetician we do hear so many excuses for bad skincare practices. I always saw estheticians are also educators.

  4. This is a good post. As estheticians we hear so many excuses for poor skincare. I always say an esthetician is also an educator , because some times folks really don’t have a clue.


Leave a Reply

