Askanesthetician's Blog

An esthetician explores skincare issues and concerns

The Secret to Getting Compliments During Your Pedicure May 21, 2012

Filed under: Skincare products — askanesthetician @ 5:00 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I don’t know about you but my least favorite part of a pedicure is when the nail tech uses her file board to soften my callused heels and smooth out my rough skin.  Not only do I find this part painful, I also find it to be very ticklish.  I squirm and squirm in my chair just wishing that we could move on to the next part of the pedicure.

Just the other day when I went to get a pedicure the nail tech was very surprised (and pleased) by how smooth my feet were and that there was barely any need for her to use that dreaded foot file paddle on me.  The secret to my smooth feet?  Alternating the use of the two different products after every shower.  After I shower I either use:

  • Philosophy Soul Owner which has glycolic and salicylic acids to gently exfoliate the skin and moisturizing ingredients to hydrate
OR

While I love to use both products, alternately, on my feet you could choose one or the other for your feet.  Use the Epionce product if your feet are cracked and painfully dry.  This cream heals the skin barrier so that your skin can properly retain moisture and be healthy.  If your feet are not cracked this is simply a great moisturizer (good for your lips too!).

Use the Philosophy product if your feet are rough and you need to get rid of dry, flaky skin.  Since this product has both moisturizers and gentle acids in it, it does double duty in terms of getting your feet sandal ready.

Though you can skip a night here and there when using a product like this I do recommend using them year round instead of just during the summer.  This way your feet stay smooth and hydrated all year round.

Your feet and your nail tech will thank you!

Image from coronadobeautysalon.com

 

Leave a Reply

