Askanesthetician's Blog

An esthetician explores skincare issues and concerns

What Personality Traits Does An Esthetician Need? August 9, 2012

Filed under: Esthetics/Estheticians — askanesthetician @ 5:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

I’m not quite sure why, but I’ve been thinking about the contents of this topic for a while now.  What personality traits do you need in order to be a good esthetician?  Why are certain personality traits important if you want to be an esthetician?

I would say that an esthetician needs to have the following personality traits in order to do her job well:

  • be compassionate
  • be a good listener
  • be empathetic
  • be helpful
  • like people or be a people person
  • be open-minded
  • be patient
  • be caring and kind
  • be professional
  • want to always continue learning
  • be genuine
  • have a thick skin
  • be positive

Why did I choose the above personality traits?  When working with people very closely, as an esthetician does, you have to be compassionate, caring, kind, and empathetic because people are going to open up to you both about their skin issues and about their lives.  This is also why you need to be a good listener.  Since estheticians are dealing with their client’s appearance (after all we literally wear our skin for the entire world to see) you have an opportunity to positively impact someone’s life during your time with them by giving them a genuine treatment that meets their skincare goals.  I put the word “their” in bold for a reason – one thing that an esthetician always has to remember is that you are there for the client.  So if the client asks you to apply their make-up a certain way or shape their brows in a strange way you have to consider their request very seriously.  That doesn’t mean that you can’t gently try to steer your client in another direction that you think is better, but if you want to keep that client you need to do so in a gentle and caring manner.

An esthetician has to be both open-minded and like people in order to succeed. I’ve met the most interesting people while doing facials for them, and I have clients of all races and religions.  It is wonderful how cultural and religious barriers breakdown easily while doing a facial so always keep an open mind when meeting a new client.  Having said that you as an esthetician don’t need to tolerate racist or abusive treatment by your clients.  You can definitely set boundaries.  And having learned this the hard way, I can definitely say that you should try to steer away from speaking about politics and religion with your clients unless you know them really, really well.  Those subjects are so personal and sensitive it is easy to both offend or get offended when discussing them.  It is just best to avoid them altogether.

Ideally estheticians should love helping people in a very genuine way.  I can’t tell you how happy it makes me feel to hear from someone that a treatment I gave them or a product I recommended helped their skin look better.  If you are bitter about life your clients will sense that.  Keeping a positive attitude, even if your personal life is falling apart all around you, is vital to being a good esthetician.

An esthetician should be knowledgable about skin functions and products, but she should also have the drive to want to keep learning.  The esthetics field is constantly evolving and changing so you have to stay up to date.  If you don’t like learning new things being an esthetician might not work for you.

Lastly, to be an esthetician you need a thick skin.  I have always been a sensitive person so this last one is still a struggle for me.  Not everyone is going to like you even if you give them a great treatment.  They might never come back to you for reasons you can’t even understand.  And there is always going to be someone who won’t like how you do their eyebrows, or wax their legs, or do their facial.  As long as the naysayers are outweighed by the positive feedback you’re doing fine.  Some days are hard, some clients are impossible and that is why staying positive is always important.  Believe me I know that this is easier said than done especially after seeing a nasty client, but trying to focus on the positive is really the only anecdote to all that negativity.  So many times when someone is nasty to you, you just need to remember – it is all about them and really has nothing to do with me.

So my fellow estheticians who read this blog and those out there who get spa treatments – do you agree or disagree with my above list of personality traits esthetician’s should have?  Let everyone know what you think!  Share away!

Further Reading From My Blog:

Further Reading from Other Sources:

Image from seedsofnature.com

 

7 Responses to “What Personality Traits Does An Esthetician Need?”

  1. Nikki Genovese Says:

    This is so true! I am printing this for my other Estheticians. Thank you

  2. I thought it was interesting that you included the last pointer about having thick skin. I hadn’t really thought of it, but it’s true. You can’t please EVERYONE, but you can do everything in your power to be kind, effective, and do your job to the utmost. And as long as you know you gave your job 100% every day with every client, it’s easier not to let the haters get to you. Good blog post, and completely agree with all the traits you listed for being a great esthetician!

  3. Tracy Gose Says:

    I have a question slightly off topic…I am 42 and I have always loved beauty. I read as many beauty magazines that I can get my hands on. I am at the point in my life where I want to follow more of my passions than just working as a Nursing Assistant (which I’ve been doing for 20 years!) My question(s) are am I too old to enter the field and do I have to be perfectly beautiful? My skin is far from perfect. I am enrolling in Bellus Academy here in San Diego and I absolutely love their Esthetic program. I just want to make sure I am not wasting my time or money.

    • Hi and thanks for your question. You definitely don’t need to be “perfectly beautiful” to be an esthetician. I don’t know anyone like that :). Being clean and presentable is important. As for if this is a good career choice later in life that really depends on you, your financial situation, and the area of the country you live in. That is a good question to ask the administrators and teachers at your school. Good luck!

  4. Cinthya Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this post. Next week, Im just starting my education in esthetics and i was wondering if i would make a good esthetician. I believe I will thanks to this post. I’ve always loved esthetics and I love helping people. Thank you so so so so so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!c

  5. […] everyone is different but I truly believe that every good esthetician has many of the same personality traits.  So in no particular order here they […]


Leave a Reply

