Askanesthetician's Blog

An esthetician explores skincare issues and concerns

Check This Out: What I’ve Been Reading January 30, 2014

Lately I’ve read quite a number of interesting skincare related articles so I thought I would share them with my readers.

First up I wanted to talk about a website not an article, actually.  Caroline Hirons is a well-known esthetician in the UK.  I had actually looked at her website quite some time ago, but I recently rediscovered it through a tip from my loyal reader Rae (be sure to check out Rae’s blog Scatterbraintures!).  There is a lot of skincare information on this website.  I recommend reading the “cheat sheets”  (found on the right side of the home page) for solid, practical skincare advice.  If you do not live in England, I don’t, her product recommendations are not very relevant unfortunately.  While I do think that most of the skincare information that Hirons shares is great, there two things in particular that I disagree with her on.  The first is that Hirons keeps bashing products that contain mineral oil.  I wrote a long post in my blog about how mineral oil isn’t bad for the skin. If you haven’t already read my post (Why Does Mineral Oil Have Such A Bad Reputation?) please give it a look in order to get another perspective on this controversial skincare ingredient.  Secondly, Hirons seems to be a mission against foam cleansers (she claims they are needlessly drying and strip the skin).  I happen to disagree with this opinion as well.  I currently use a foam cleanser and do not find it drying at all.  So as with all skincare advice though I really do think that Hirons has mostly great skincare advice to share, be sure to keep an open mind and don’t think that everything she writes is true.

Now on to the articles I want to share:

If you’ve read any interesting skincare related articles lately please share links below!

Image from awesome-desktop.com

 

4 Responses to “Check This Out: What I’ve Been Reading”

  1. Rae Says:

    Thanks for the shoutout and for sharing the link on counterfeit cosmetics. THat’s scary.

  2. Josh Says:

    I’m an avid reader of Caroline’s blog too. I’d say she doesn’t bash mineral oil per say- she just has said in the past that there is just no real “nutritional” benefit to the skin as you get with antioxidants etc. Mineral oil just sits on top of the skin and can make the penetration of active ingredients harder/not as effective. Also, skin is naturally permeable for a reason, and it is better to keep it that way. Ingredients such as glycerin and hyaluronic acid draw moisture into the skin but mineral oil stops them from doing so.

    In her cleansing cheat sheet she says to generally steer clear of foaming cleansers but that there are the odd exceptions to this rule. Apart from generally drying out the skin, they also alkaline the surface of the skin which creates a breeding ground for bacteria. Better to use a cleanser without surfactants, applied to dry skin and then removed with a hot flannel- which is how it is done when you get a professional facial. That way you don’t alkaline the skin and you are also gently exfoliating and cleaning the skin without stripping it.

    • Thanks very much for your comments. Please see my post about mineral oil (you’ll find the link above) in order to understand that everything Hirons writes about mineral oil is either false or a distortion of facts. She definitely isn’t the only one who continues to share out-dated information about mineral oil. I quote doctors and cosmetic chemists in my post who say the opposite of what she says; please have a look.
      As for her claims that foam cleansers alkaline the skin I would love to see scientific proof to such a claim. I’m open to reevaluating my opinion about foam cleansers but only with the correct research and documentation for a reliable source. Despite her overall good skincare advice Hirons never shares the source of her opinion/information. I wish she would especially when it comes to scientific statements.


Leave a Reply

