Askanesthetician's Blog

An esthetician explores skincare issues and concerns

Skin Cancer Affects All of Us January 30, 2010

 

I wanted to write a short post today that would tie into some of the information I mentioned in my post yesterday about winter skincare.  One of the things I discussed in the post yesterday was the importance of using sunscreen (spf 30) all year-long.  Though I would like to devote a longer post in the future about skin cancer and how to prevent it I thought in the meantime I would post some very important information about skin cancer.

According to the Skin Cancer Foundation :

  • Skin cancer is the most common form of cancer in the United States. More than one million skin cancers are diagnosed annually.
  • Each year there are more new cases of skin cancer than the combined incidence of cancers of the breast, prostate, lung and colon.
  • If those statistics aren’t enough to make you sit up and take notice (and put on sunscreen) perhaps reading this article from Self magazine about skin cancer survivors will do the trick: Diagnosis Skin CancerWomen are continually updated with information about the fight against breast cancer.  I wish as much attention would be given to skin cancer.

    Sunscreen Tips:

    First of all, please remember that there is no such thing as a healthy tan.  When your skin gets darker after being in the sun that is actually your skin’s way of protecting itself from damage.  If you love the way you look after getting a tan use make-up (or get a spray tan) in order to achieve that “glow”.

    Use a moisturizer that has spf 30 or higher or a sunscreen with spf 30 or higher.  Be sure to use at least a teaspoon size of either (or both) of those products on your face in order to get enough protection.  Apply sunscreen AFTER your moisturizer (if you aren’t using a moisturizer with spf) and BEFORE applying your make-up.  Reapply your sunscreen every two hours if you are outdoors or in a sunny room in-doors.  If you are in an enclosed space all day reapply your sunscreen before going out to lunch or leaving your office for the day.  (See my post about brush-on sunscreens)  Don’t rely on make-up with spf to give you enough protection.  It is always better to use a separate sunscreen in addition to your make-up to get enough protection.

    Don’t neglect the rest of your body.  Any part of your skin that is exposed, even if it is incidental sun exposure (walking to your car, etc.), needs to be protected from the sun with sunscreen.  You can use a body lotion with sunscreen like Eucerin.

    And remember – anyone can get skin cancer!  Skin color, where you live, and your lifestyle choices may lower your risk of skin cancer, but they will not prevent it.  Use sunscreen daily!

    Recommended Website:

    Once again I’ll recommend The Skin Cancer Foundation’s website.  It is an excellent resource for all your questions about this disease.

    And lastly, what is the single most recommended anti-aging product?  Sunscreen!  So while you are protecting yourself from skin cancer by using sunscreen you are also preventing wrinkles and fine lines.   Do you need any more reasons to use sunscreen?

    Also please read:  Nonmelanoma Skin Cancers a National Epidemic  Skin IncMarch 2010

     

    Update:

    I’ve noticed a growing interest in this post in the last few weeks so I thought I would add a few more things to the post.  I’ve written extensively about sun protection in this blog.  I think three of my more relevant posts about sun protection are:

    Also please see my post – May is Skin Cancer Awareness Month – for more links to my posts about skin cancer.

     

    3 Responses to “Skin Cancer Affects All of Us”

    1. Hi sweetie, sweet site! I really like this article.. I was curious about this for a while now. This cleared a lot up for me! Do you have a rss feed that I can add?

    2. Yes, feel free to add my blog to your link exchange directory.


    Leave a comment